SOUTH PLAINS ASSOCIATION OF GOVERNMENTS

BOARD OF DIRECTORS HYBRID MEETING TUESDAY, MARCH 11, 2025

MINUTES

Be it remembered that the Board of Directors of South Plains Association of Governments met at 10:00 A.M., Tuesday, March 11, 2025 in the SPAG Board Room, 1323 58th Street, Lubbock, Texas.

☑ Indicates Executive Committee Members and Board Members who were present:

- ✓ Judge Sharla Baldridge EC
- ☑ Ms. Tina Betts EC
- ☑ Judge Kevin Brendle EC
- ☑ Mayor Blake Cate EC Councilmember Tim Collins Commissioner Jason Corley Commissioner Mike Dalby Judge Duane Daniel
- ☑ Judge Mike DeLoach EC
- ✓ Judge Rusty Forbes Councilmember David Glasheen
- ☑ Mayor Darin Greene
 Councilmember Gordon Harris
- ✓ Judge Pat Sabala Henry
- ☑ Mayor Natalie Howard
- Mr. Armando LopezJudge Marty LuckeMr. Mario Martinez
 - Councilmember Christy Martinez-Garcia EC

- ✓ Judge Jim Meador EC Judge David Mull
- ☑ Mr. Tommy Murillo Judge Lee Norman
- ✓ Judge Curtis Parrish EC Senator Charles Perry
- ✓ Mr. Floyd Price EC Commissioner Jordan Rackler Councilmember Brayden Rose Mayor Clinton Sawyer
- ✓ Judge Tony Serbantez Councilmember Cary Shaw Mayor Clifton Shaw
- ☑ Commissioner Mike Slayden
- ☑ Mayor Charles Starnes EC
- ☑ Mayor Pro Tem Michael Stueart Ms. Carmen Vige
- ✓ Judge Michael Ybarra Ms. Lori Zinn

STAFF PRESENT:

Tim C. Pierce

Belinda Solis

Cissy Viduarre

Tim Schwartz

Yvonne Ndungu

GayLynn Mosher

Lauren Nichols

Piata Bryant

Chelsey Baldivia

Tamer Mahmoud

Monica Canales

SPAG Board of Directors March 11, 2025 Page 2 of 3

CALL TO ORDER
PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE
PRAYER

President Mike DeLoach called the meeting to order at 10:00 A.M.

B-209-25 President Mike DeLoach opened the floor to receive Public Comment from citizens to address the Board concerning an issue of interest that is posted on the agenda for the meeting. No Public Comments were received.

B-210-25 Motion made by Floyd Price, seconded by Tony Serbantez and unanimously approved the minutes and ratification of the actions taken at the February 11, 2025 meeting.

B-211-25 Motion made by Blake Cate, seconded by Mike Braddock and unanimously approved the financial report for the months of December 2024 and January 2025 meetings.

B-212-25 Presentation on the 6th Cycle of Regional Water Planning including overall process and the timeline for completion this year presented by Dr. Ken Rainwater, Chair, Llano Estacado Regional Water Planning Group and Paula Jo Lemonds, HDR Technical Consultant.

B-213-25 Motion made by Floyd Price, seconded by Tony Serbantez and unanimously approved the purchase of routers for the SPAG Regional 9-1-1 Network.

B-214-25 Motion made by Jim Meador, seconded by Blake Cate and unanimously approved authorizing the submittal of the FY 2025 Regional Public Transportation Coordination Plan 5 Year Plan Update Grant Application in the amount of \$125, 000 to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT).

B-215-25 Motion made by Blake Cate, seconded by Rusty Forbes and unanimously approved the application development interlocal agreements with City of Abernathy, City of Amherst, City of Brownfield, City of Shallowater for 2025/2026 Downtown Revitalization and Main Street Program fund applications.

B-216-25 Motion made by Curtis Parrish, seconded by Tina Betts and authorized an amendment to the FY2025 SPAG Financial Plan changing the Regional Services Part-time position to a Full-time position.

B-217-25 Motion made by Tony Serbantez, seconded by Michael Steuart and unanimously authorized the purchase of parking lot renovations for the new SPAG Office Building located at 6811 Indiana Avenue.

B-218-25 Motion made by Floyd Price, seconded by Blake Cate and unanimously approved the prioritization of the FY 2026 Homeland Security Grants Division Applications as recommended by the Emergency Responder Advisory Committee.

SPAG Board of Directors March 11, 2025 Page 3 of 3

B-219-25 Motion made by Floyd Price, seconded by Tina Betts and unanimously approved the following Committee Appointments:

Emergency Responder Advisory Committee (ERAC)

Dr. Steve Presley, Lubbock County, nominated by Tony Serbantez Clinton Thetford, Lubbock County, nominated by Curtis Parrish

South Plains Transportation Advisory Committee (SPTAC)
Heath Haynes, Yoakum County, nominated by Michael Ybarra

B-220-25 Staff Reports

- Chelsey Baldivia provided an update on the Safe Streets 4 All grant.
- Tim Pierce provided an update on the new building.
- Tim Pierce announced the next Board Meeting is scheduled for April 8, 2025.

Minutes Read and Approved on this 8th day of April 2025.

Mike DeLoach, President

Tim C. Pierce, Executive Director